It was just one bad day, right?

9 Mar

Yesterday was an ugly day for the Cardinals, losing 20-6 to the Dodgers.  My man in Jupiter described the scene as “pathetic”.  The good news is that Brian Barton continues to make a strong case for making the team.  He went 2-3 yesterday with a triple.  Colby Rasmus (who really needs a good nickname, if you ask me) went 1-2 with a double and a run, and Joe Mather went 1-2 with an RBI single and a run scored. 

 On the pitching side of the prospect ledger, Mark Worrell went one inning and gave up two hits, one a homerun, and walked a man.  His spring ERA is now at 6.00, which puts a damper on my hopes that he would make the club out of Spring Training.  Blake Hawksworth gave up three runs in two innings of work, but struck out five Dodgers. 

 Today, Clayton Mortenson started because Anthony Reyes has flu-like symptoms.  I will be in Florida starting on Wednesday, so I will be reporting back on what I see with pictures and words.

4 Responses to “It was just one bad day, right?”

  1. Weikle22 March 9, 2008 at 2:49 pm #

    I’m on spring break and saw the game in Jupiter yesterday. Barton and Rasmus did their thing, but not much else positive for the Cardinals. On the other hand, Matt Kemp may eventually be a beast. Also, I am staying with my friend from high school at the University of Miami and saw parts of all three games versus Boston College this weekend. Jemile Weeks has a nice line drive stroke. Also, last night Yonder Alonso hit two moon shot homeruns in his first two at bats. He has much more impressive power than scouts seem to give him credit for. They both look like first round picks to me. Weeks seems like a more polished version of his brother without the extremely high upside, but his speed is for real. Yonder Alonso kind of reminds me of a Mark Teixeira type swing and body type at first base. I’m planning on going to the next game on Tuesday night also, so I’ll report on both of them if anything else stands out. Nobody on Boston College seemed very noteworthy just from watching, but I didn’t know anything about them going into the game.

  2. James March 10, 2008 at 5:23 am #

    I think Rasmus has a nickname, Razzle Dazzle, but has been shortened to Razz. They mentioned it over at Cardinals Diaspora.

  3. roarke March 10, 2008 at 7:22 am #

    James:

    Ok, but I said a *good* nickname…

  4. SleepyCA March 10, 2008 at 4:01 pm #

    He also goes by “Hill”, shortened from “broom hilda”, according to his dad, who posts at “the birdhouse” occasionally.

Leave a comment